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Grande Armée errata and “Approved” Optional Rules (16 December, 2003)

These errata cover both the first (2003) and second (2004) printings of Grande Armée. If you have the second printing,
then most of these errata are not necessary for you, as they are already in the corrected book. In the event of any
contradiction, this sheet takes precedence.

Clarification: “Vulnerable” on the Road (F6.0)
A target of artillery fire is only considered “vulnerable” on a road if it used the road movement bonus at any point in its
previous move, as described in H4.0. Any type of unit may be vulnerable in this fashion.

Bonus for French Old Guard Artillery (F6.0)

French Old Guard artillery units should net get a bonus die when firing (either in bombardment or as a “final shot.”)
Rather, Old Guard units add a +1 pip to each of their dice when they fire (bombardment only — not in the final shot.) A
natural roll of 1 is still a miss.

New Rule: G5.55 Grand Battery Force Status

A grand battery behaves slightly differently than other Forces if its commander is “On His Own.” Take a Force status
check, like any other Force. But interpret the results as follows:

Inactive: Same as any other Force: no movement except the sub-commander.

Adjust: The grand battery may move normally under an “Adjust” order.

Attack: The grand battery may not move away from visible enemy units, unless doing so brings it closer to other
enemy units.

Clarifications: Routing Units and Placing Rallied Units (G6.1, K6.0, and J4.1)

When a unit routs, it is Nowhere. It can be placed anywhere because it has no effect on game-play at all. For clarity, I
recommend placing it somewhere in the “back” of the Force. In the Rally Segment, place the rallied unit within its sub-
commander’s radius, not closer than 6” from the enemy, and if possible, “behind” the sub-commander, so that the sub-
commander is between the rallying unit and the enemy. (This may not be possible in a fluid situation.)

In the rally segment, place all the broken units of each Force according to the criteria above. Based on its
placement, a unit may be eligble to receive CPs from the army commander. The army commander may contribute CPs
to affect the Rally Factors of units up to half his radius away. He may not contribute more than three CPs to any one
rally attempt. Place all CPs before resolving any rally attempts.

Moving a Grand Battery (Eliminate section G5.53 and replace it with a new section, H10.1, as follows:)
In order to move a grand battery, none of its units may be marked as having fired or as being suppressed in that pulse. It
may still have taken Final Shots. To move as a whole, the units of the grand battery must be in an unbroken, contiguous
frontage. If not moving as a whole, the only kind of movement allowed is for an individual battery that has been pushed
back to rejoin the contiguous front.

To move the grand battery, roll one die for movement, and apply it to the movement rate of the slowest unit in the
grand battery. That will be the movement allowance for the whole grand battery.

If a grand battery is comprised entirely of horse artillery, then it may move even if any of its component batteries
have fired or are suppressed. If that is the case, then roll a movement die, obtain the grand battery’s movement
allowance, and halve it.

Clarification: Can you Wheel or Oblique Backwards?

Rule H6.4 forbids oblique movement backwards, but there's nothing forbidding a retrograde Wheel. Just remember that
you have to pay double for any retrograde movement, and you'd have to obey the other strictures on retrograde moves
listed in H6.3.

Changes to 12.3: “Squaring Up”
Defending units will turn to face attackers and all units will “square up” after all attacking moves are complete.

Clarification of rule: 14.32 "Flanked"

In combat your unit is "flanked" (and rolls down one pip to hit) if there is an enemy unit within 3" of its flank or rear.
However, in order to "flank" your unit, the majority of the enemy unit's base must lie behind your unit's front. For
example:
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On the left, Austrian unit A1 is within 3" of the French flank, but most of Al's base is not behind Fr's front. Thus, Fr is
not flanked. On the right, however, most of Al's base falls behind Fr's front line, and is within 3" of his flank. Thus, Fr
is flanked.

Note that this does not in any way change rule A8.0. You still need to use A8.0 to determine when an enemy is
"to your front" or "to your flank," when moving (the 6" Rule), when firing artillery or fighting skirmishers, and in many
other cases.

Fr's front

Fr's front

Clarification of J1.1: Falling back through friendlies
A unit that falls back through friendly units suffers a loss of —1SP, no matter how many friendly units it falls back
through. Each friendly unit through which it falls back also suffers —1 SP.

Clarification: J5.1 Replacing a Fallen Officer
After the third sentence of J5.1, add this sentence:
"Generals and ADCs may only be deployed in a player's Control Segment."

And change the first sentence of the last paragraph of J5.1 to read:
"If the turn ends before the opportunity for another Control Segment, OR if the player has no ADCs or generals
remaining, OR if he lacks the CPs to deploy them, then a staff officer will take over."

New Rule M2.7: Attacking out of a town when there’s not enough space

If a unit moves out of a town to attack, but there is less than 3” of open space between him and the enemy, then the
players should adjudicate as follows: if more than half of the attacker’s base is out of the town, then it is out of the
town. A unit attacking out of cover (hard or soft) does not receive the saving throw for that cover. Saving Throws for
cover apply only to units using that cover for defense.

Errata on the Waterloo Map: Plancenoit

The town of Plancenoit (2 bases), should be placed near the south map-edge, just "beneath"the left-most area of
Milhaud's set-up. The town was shaped like a teardrop, with the narrower portion (one base) being on a higher
elevation than the larger portion.

Player House Rules and Other Suggested Changes:

Increasing the Artillery Saving Throw: Some players have felt that counter-battery fire is too lethal. They have
recommended increasing the saving throw for an artillery or engineer target to 3.

Cavalry Countercharge or Recall? Normally a defender does not advance after combat, even if victorious. But
defending cavalry can be assumed to countercharge, and thus there is the possibility that it will not recall in time, if
victorious, but will instead be carried by the momentum of its victory to occupy the ground of its attacker. Therefore:
when cavalry defends in combat and is victorious, roll one die to determine whether or not is has “recalled.” Use the
numbers corresponding to unit morale grades in table K2.0. If the die roll is less than or equal to the number, then the
cavalry has recalled; it does not advance to occupy the ground of its attacker. Otherwise, the defending victorious
cavalry countercharges: it occupies the attacker’s position. Add one to the roll if the unit is British or Ottoman.

When attacked by two enemy units, a countercharging defending cavalry unit occupies the ground of the enemy’s
dominant unit.
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New Optional Rules:

New Optional Rule N10.0: Russian Artillery frontages

In the box on page 94, reference is made to Russian batteries having a larger frontage due to their larger number of
guns. That was supposed to have been an Optional Rule, but it slipped out of the rulebook somehow. The reason this
was to have been optional was because I "rounded up" a bit on regular artillery frontages in order to create a standard
artillery base that accommodates all figure sizes. A Napoleonic artillery battery usually covered about 100-120 yards
when deployed, which is not quite the 1.5" front the game uses. A Russian battery would be about 30-50% bigger, so a
good game convention would be to use a 2" frontage for Russian batteries, if you like. But since the game average is
between the two, I recommend you stick with 1.5" and leave the hyper-historical folks to quibble.

New Optional Rule N1.1: Wing Commander Personality Ratings

The last paragraph of G8.2 explains that sub-commanders always use their personality ratings, whether part of a wing,
or not. In other words, a wing commander’s personality rating is ignored. I accidentally omitted the optional rule that
would have provided an exception to this:

On a scenario-by-scenario basis, if you do not have a person playing a wing commander, you may choose to use
that wing commander’s personality rating. This represents a case where the wing commander is either obviously
aggressive (such as Ney at Waterloo) or obviously reluctant to bring his entire wing into action. In such a case, when
failing a Control Test for any sub-commander within his wing and within his radius, add the wing commander’s
personality modifier to that sub-commander’s subsequent Force Status roll, and ignore the sub-commander’s own
personality rating.

New Optional Rule N4.1: Impetuous Cavalry

Certain armies had notorious difficulty extricating or even controlling their cavalry, once the horsemen had closed with
the enemy. Under this rule, all Ottoman and British cavalry operating under the 6" Rule have an additional restriction:
If they start their move within 6" of enemy units, they 1) May not hold their ground - they MUST roll a movement die,
and 2) Make a mandatory charge on a movement die roll of 5 or 6, rather than the normal "6" for all other types and
nationalities of units.

New Optional Rule N4.2: Cavalry and Hills

Rule H5.1 prevents cavalry from "charging downhill" because of the severe problems with keeping good order. If
players prefer a more flexible approach, then they can instead penalize cavalry -1 pip to hit if attacking cavalry
occupies a higher elevation than its enemy.

New Optional Rule N11.0: Rifles

Several nations experimented with rifles in this period, but the British formed two well-known regiments of all-rifle
troops, which saw extensive service in the Peninsula. If designing a scenario where a British brigade contains one of
these regiments, give that brigade a special skirmish rating of SK3, and the ability to make skirmish attacks out to 8".

New Optional Rule N1.2: Variable Personality Modifiers

Rather than having a simple either/or "Cautious" -2 modifier or "Aggressive" +3 modifier for the Force Status roll, you
can choose instead to give Sub-Commanders a modifier, based on a sliding scale. For instance:

-3 Bernadotte

-2 Rosenberg

-1 Schwarzenberg

+1 Vandamme

+2 Mildoravitch

+ 3 Bliicher in 1806, Murat after a glass of wine

+4 Murat after two glasses of wine...



